# American Board of Forensic Odontology

# **Diplomates Reference**

# Manual

# Section V Administrative

July 2025 Edition

### American Board of Forensic Odontology, Inc.

### **DIPLOMATES REFERENCE MANUAL**

### SECTION V ADMINISTRATIVE

TABLE of CONTENTS July 2025

ABFO OFFICERS ABFO BOARD OF DIRECTORS ABFO COMMITTEES ABFO AWARDS

#### **ABFO OFFICERS 2024**

#### PRESIDENT & CHAIRMAN Dr. Eric Wilson (2024) Cole Camp, MO (573) 480-0723 president@abfo.org

PRESIDENT ELECT Dr. Derek Draft (2024) Grandville, MI (616) 403-1060 draftdds@gmail.com

VICE PRESIDENT Dr. Mark Eilers (2024) Cole Camp, MO (573) 480-0723 eilersmarkt@yahoo.com

#### SECRETARY

Dr. Grace Chung (24-25) Las Vegas, NV (201) 707-7874 secretary@abfo.org

#### TREASURER

**Dr. Kathy Kasper (23-24)** 1514 E. Beltline Rd. #100 Carrollton, TX 75006 214-673-3745 (c) treasurer@abfo.org

IMMEDIATE PAST PRESIDENT Dr. Jackie Reid (2024)

Chatham, NJ (201) 218-0619 j.reid@att.net

## ABFO Board of Directors 2024-2025

1) **Dr. Robin Ainsworth (25)** Oldsmar, FL (240) 418-3607 robin.a.ainsworth@gmail.com

2) **Dr. Heath Blockley (26)** Hixson, TN 37343 (423) 598-8595 heath.blockley@gmail.com

3) **Dr. Cristina Dalle-Grave (26)** Durango, CO 81301 (575) 377-5471 cmdgrave@gmail.com

4) **Dr. Corinne D'Anjou (25)** Quebec, Canada J5R 6E6 (514) 774-8718 <u>corinned@videotron.ca</u>

5) **Dr. J.P. Fancher (27)** San Marcos, TX (210) 896-8575 <u>jpfancher@abfo.com</u>

6) **Dr. Beverly Hedgepeth (26)** Memphis, TN (901) 619-5077 BDHedge@aol.com

7) Dr. Lowell Riemer (26) Edmonton, Canada (780) 984-6331 <u>lbriemer@gmail.com</u>

8) **Dr. Paige M. Smalley (24)** 306 Holly Drive Dublin, GA 31021 472-353-3053 lpaigemoses@gmail.com 9) **Dr. David Wold (26)** Bensenville, IL (630) 306-0707 dawolddds@sbcglobal.net

Legal advisor to the Board of Directors: (non-voting member of the board of directors) Haskell M. Pitluck, JD 573 Lake Ave. Crystal Lake, IL 60014 (815) 459-7192 pitluck@mc.net

#### ABFO Committees 2024-2025

#### **Standing Committees**

#### **Executive Committee**

Eric Wilson (P)	(26)
Derek Draft (PE)	(27)
Mark Eilers (VP)	(28)
Kathy Kasper (Treas)	(29)
Grace Chung (Sec)	(30)
Jacqueline Reid (PP)	(25)

#### **Certification & Examination**

Robert Wood – Chair	(25)
Dirk Van Der Meer	(26)
Holland Maness	(27)
John Nase	(28)
Cathy Law – Past Chair	(24)
EC Liaison- Kasper (Treas)	

#### Ethics

Gary Berman – Chair	(25)
Peter Loomis	(26)
Steve Lojeski	(27)
Haskell Pitluck (non-voting)	
EC Liaison – Wilson (P)	

#### Nominating

Rich Fixott (PP 2)	(25)
Jacqueline Reid (PP)	(25)
Heath Blockley	
Phyllis Ho	
Peter Loomis	

#### Articles & Bylaws

Ruth Smith -Chair	(25)
Cristina Dalle Grave	(25)
David Wold	(26)
J.P. Fancher	(26)
Gary Berman	(27)
Heath Blockley	(27)
Haskell Pitluck (non-voting)	
EC Liaison – Chung (Sec)	

#### Research

TBD-Remove from DRM in 2025

#### **Strategic Planning**

James Lewis – Chair (25) Jan Westberry Robin Ainsworth Paige Smalley Rich Fixott EC Liaison – Wilson (P)

#### **Bitemark Evidence & Patterned Injury**

Derek Draft – Chair (25) John Nase David Senn Holland Maness Rich Fixott Mark Eilers Tom David Corinne D'Anjou Ann Norrlander EC Liaison – Reid (PP)

#### **Dental Identification**

Lena Karkalas – Chair (25) Peter Loomis Gary Berman Scott Hahn Kyle Tanaka Leigh-Ann Schuerman Cristina Dalle Grave Beverly Hedgepeth David Wold Page Smalley EC Liaison – Eilers (VP)

#### **Civil Litigation**

Tom David – Chair(25)Ann NorrlanderBruce SchraderBruce SchraderHeath BlockleyPaige SmalleyEC Liaison- Eilers (VP)

#### Human Abuse & Neglect

Robin Ainsworth – Chair (25) Lowell Riemer Jennifer Moore Susan Baker EC Liaison - Kasper (Treas)

#### Dental Age Assessment

Kathy Kasper- Chair (25) Leigh-Ann Schuerman Derek Draft J.P. Fancher James Lewis Laura Kaiser Denise Murmann Jacqueline Reid Eric Wilson Jan Westberry John Nase David Senn Mark Crumpton EC Liaison- Draft (PE)

#### **Public Relations**

Rick Cardoza – Chair (25) Lena Karkalas Jacqueline Reid EC Liaison- Chung (Sec)

#### Ad Hoc Committees

#### Ad Hoc Diplomate Development Committee

Paige Smalley – Chair Robin Ainsworth

#### Ad Hoc FSAB Reaccreditation Committee

TBD at later date

#### Ad Hoc Overall Workshop Committee

Mark Eilers – Chair(25) 2024 DAA Workshop Chair - Kasper 2024 Civil Lit Workshop Chair - David

#### Ad Hoc Publication Review Committee

John Nase - Chair (25) James Lewis Kathy Kasper David Senn Robert Wood

#### Ad Hoc Governmental Affairs Committee

Ken Ascheim Co-Chair	(25)
Phyllis Ho Co-Chair	(25)
John Nase	
Robin Ainsworth	
Lena Karkalas	
Rich Fixott	
EC Liaison – Draft (PE)	

Liaisons

#### Ad Hoc ADA Liaison John Kenney

Ad Hoc ADA Scientific Committee for Dental Informatics (SCDI) Liaison Kenneth Aschheim

Ad Hoc Archives Liaison Ruth Smith

Ad Hoc FSAB Liaison TBD

Ad Hoc Local Arrangements Warren Tewes-Baltimore (25)

Parliamentarian Bruce Schrader

#### Webmaster

Dane Johnson

#### **ABFO** Awards

#### **Haskell Pitluck Award**

This award is given to a non-odontologist that has served the ABFO community in an exemplary fashion. The first recipient of this award is the namesake of the award, Judge Haskell Pitluck, who has served the ABFO selflessly, with great passion for many years. This first Haskell Pitluck award was bestowed to Judge Pitluck on 02/20/2012.

This Award will be given in the future at the discretion of the ABFO Board of Directors to a worthy recipient.

February 20, 2012	Judge Haskell Pitluck
February 18, 2013	William Hyzer
February 17, 2014	Candy Ross
February 15, 2015	Stephen Kinney
February 18, 2018	Dr. John Melville, MD
February 15, 2021	Dan Hines (MSgt, ret.)
February 19, 2024	Ken Melson, JD

#### John M. Williams Humanatarian Service Award

John Williams Humanitarian Award To be given to an forensic odontologist whenever appropriate who exemplifies humanitarian service in the spirit of Dr. John M. Williams, the first award to be given to Dr. John Williams posthumously.

This Award will be given in the future at the discretion of the ABFO Board of Directors to a worthy recipient.

February 17, 2013

John M. Williams, DDS

#### **Robert Emmett Barsley Award for Forensic Odontology Excellence and Development**

When Bob Barsley, DDS, JD, DABFO received the 2015 Alumnus of the Year award from Louisiana State University School of Dentistry, he was described by Dr. Frank Martello as having "endless energy and dedication to our profession (that) has been truly admirable and commendable." These accolades were accurate and also appropriately describe his extensive career in forensic dentistry.

Bob's generous spirit, thoughtful nature, willingness to share, and eagerness to help anyone he could were hallmarks of his character.

This award is given to a forensic odontologist who, by following the example set by the award's namesake, has achieved excellence in and dedication to the field of forensic odontology and has shared that excellence and dedication by providing significant assistance to others in developing their forensic odontology skills and facilitating their progress toward entry into organized forensic odontology.

This award will be given to a worthy recipient at the discretion of the ABFO Board of Directors.

February 15, 2021 February 13, 2023 Paula Brumit DDS, D-ABFO

David Senn, DDS, D-ABFO