American Board of Forensic Odontology

Diplomates Reference

Manual

Section V Administrative

October 2023 Edition

American Board of Forensic Odontology, Inc.

DIPLOMATES REFERENCE MANUAL

SECTION V ADMINISTRATIVE

TABLE of CONTENTS
Oct 2023

ABFO OFFICERS
ABFO BOARD OF DIRECTORS
ABFO COMMITTEES
ABFO AWARDS

ABFO OFFICERS 2022-2023

PRESIDENT & CHAIRMAN Dr. Richard Fixott (21-23)

Redmond, OR (541) 788-9094 rfixott@abfo.org

PRESIDENT ELECT

Dr. Jackie Reid (21-22)

Chatham, NJ (201) 218-0619 jreid@abfo.org

VICE PRESIDENT

Dr. Eric Wilson (20-22)

Cole Camp, MO (573) 480-0723 secretary@abfo.org

TREASURER

Dr. Derek Draft (21-23)

Grandville, MI (616) 403-1060 treasurer@abfo.org

SECRETARY

Dr. Jan Westberry (22-24) New Smyrna Beach Florida (386) 846-6621 secretary@abfo.org

IMMEDIATE PAST PRESIDENT

Dr. Jim Lewis (21-22)

Madison, AL (256) 509-0567 jlewis@abfo.org

ABFO Board of Directors 2022-2023

1) Dr. Kathleen Kasper (24) 2nd term

1514 E. Beltline Rd. #100 Carrollton, TX 75006 214-673-3745 (c) Exfiles11@aol.com

2) Dr. Corinne D'Anjou (25)2nd term

210 Boul. Jean-Leman, Candiac Quebec, Canada J5R 6E6 514-774-8718 corinned@videotron.ca

3) Dr. Robin Ainsworth (25)

4107 Riverview Court Dunkirk, MD 20754 240-418-3697 Robin.a.ainsworth@gmail.com

4) Dr. Tom David (23) 2nd Term

1221 Rosette way Marietta, GA 30062 770-367-6153 Tjd214@comcast.net

5) Dr. Mark Eilers (23)

2115 NE 42nd Portland, OR 97213 503-281-8392 eilersmarkt@yahoo.com

6) Dr. Steve Lojeski (23) 2nd Term

1512 Upland Hills Dr. N Upland, CA 91874-9171 909-630-3450 Steve1512@roadrunner.com

7) Dr. Holland Maness (23)

130 Bells Hwy. Walterboro, SC 29488 843-782-7000 manessholland@gmail.com

8) Dr. Paige M. Smalley (24)

306 Holly Drive Dublin, GA 31021 478-290-7275 Ipaigemoses@gmail.com

9) Dr. Grace Chung (25)

2817 Maryland Hills Dr. Henderson, NV 89052 201-707-7874 gracechungdds@gmail.com

Legal advisor to the Board of Directors: (non-voting member of the board of directors) Haskell M.

Pitluck, JD 573 Lake Ave. Crystal Lake, IL 60014 815-459-7192 pitluck@mc.net

ABFO Committees 2022-2023

Standing Committees

Executive Committee

- 1. Richard Fixott (P) (24)
- 2. Jacqueline Reid (VP) (25)
- 3.. Eric Wilson (Sec) (26)
- 4. Derek Draft (Treas) (27)
- 5. Jan Westberry (Sec) (28)
- 6. Jim Lewis (PP) (23)

Certification & Examination

- 1. J.P. Fancher, Chair (23)
- 2. Cathy Law (24)
- 3. Bob Wood (25)
- 4. Dirk Van der Meer (26)
- 5. Peter Loomis-Past Chair (22)

EC Liaison- Fixott

Ethics

- 1. Gary Bell- Chair (23)
- 2. John McDowell (24)
- 3. Gary Berman (25)

Haskell Pitluck-non-voting

EC Liaison – Fixott

Nominating

- 1. David Senn (PP 2) (23)
- 2. Jim Lewis (PP) (24)
- 3. Bryan Chrz
- 4. Laura Kaiser
- 5. Tom David

Articles & Bylaws

- 1. Holland Maness-Chair (23)
- 3. Dirk van der Meer (23)
- 4. Tony Sur (24)
- 5. Robin Ainsworth (24)
- 6. Ruth Smith (25)
- 7. Christina Della Grave (25)
- 8. Haskell Pitluck (non-voting)

EC Liaison – Jim Lewis

Research

- 1. Paige Smalley Chair (23)
- 2. Bryan Chrz (ID)
- 3. Bruce Schrader (BM)
- 4. Bruce Schrader (Civil Lit)
- 5. Kathy Kasper (DAA)

EC Liaison – Derek Draft

Strategic Planning

- 1. Jim Lewis- Chair (23)
- 2. Lena Karkalas
- 3. Holland Maness
- 4. Jan Westberry

EC Liaison – Wilson

Bitemark Evidence & Patterned Injury

- 1. Chair Bruce Schrader (23)
- 2. Derek Draft
- 3. David Senn
- 4. Holland Maness
- 5. John McDowell
- 6. Mark Eilers
- 7. Jim Lewis
- 8. Corinne D'Anjou
- 9. Rich Fixott

EC Liaison- Eric Wilson

Dental Identification

- 1. Bryan Chrz Chair & WinID Subcommittee Chair (23)
- 2. Kyle Tanaka- MUP Subcommittee Chair
- 3. Gary Berman MFI Subcommittee Chair
- 4. Rick Cardoza
- 5. Joe Adserais
- 6. Richard Fixott
- 7. Phyllis Ho
- 8. Lena Karkalas
- 9. Mitch Kirschbaum
- 10. Janice Klim-Lemann
- 11. Peter Loomis

EC Liaison – Richard Fixott

Civil Litigation

- 1. Bruce Schrader- Chair (23)
- 2. Chuck Berner
- 3. Ann Norlander
- 4. Tom David

EC Liaison- Jacqueline Reid

Human Abuse & Neglect

- 1. John McDowell Chair (23)
- 2. Robin Ainsworth
- 3. Phyllis Ho
- 4. John Nase

EC Liaison-Derek Draft

Dental Age Assessment

- 1. Kathleen Kasper- Chair (23)
- 2. Joe Adserias
- 3. Derek Draft
- 4. Corinne D'Anjou
- 5. David Senn
- 6. J.P. Fancher
- 7. James Lewis
- 8. Peter Marsh
- 9. Denise Murmann
- 10. Jacqueline Reid
- 11. Eric Wilson
- 12. John Nase

EC Liaison- Derek Draft

Public Relations

- 1. Rick Cardoza Chair (23)
- 2. Lena Karkalas
- 3. Bruce Schrader
- 4. Corinne D'Anjou

EC Liaison- Jan Westberry

AD HOC COMMITTEES

Ad Hoc Data Security Committee Derek Draft – Chair Dane Johnson (ABFO Webmaster)

Ad Hoc Diplomate Development Committee Paige Smalley – Chair Derek Draft Kyle Tanaka

Ad Hoc FSAB Reaccreditation Committee Jacqueline Reid – Chair JP Fancher-CE Rich Fixott Jan Westberry

Ad Hoc Overall Workshop Committee Eric Wilson- Chair Kathleen Kasper- DAA Workshop Chair 2023 Bruce Schrader- Civil Litigation Workshop Chair 2023

Image Series John Nase-Chair

Liaisons Ad Hoc ADA Liaison John Kenney

Ad Hoc ADA Scientific Committee for Dental Informatics (SCDI) Liaison Kenneth Aschheim

Ad Hoc Archives Liaison Jim Lewis

Ad Hoc FSAB Liaison Robin Ainsworth

Ad Hoc Local Arrangements Ken Cohrn Jan Westberry

Parliamentarian – Bruce Schrader

Webmaster – Dane Johnson

ABFO Awards

:

Haskell Pitluck Award

This award is given to a non-odontologist that has served the ABFO community in an exemplary fashion. The first recipient of this award is the namesake of the award, Judge Haskell Pitluck, who has served the ABFO selflessly, with great passion for many years. This first Haskell Pitluck award was bestowed to Judge Pitluck on 02/20/2012.

This Award will be given in the future at the discretion of the ABFO Board of Directors to a worthy recipient.

February 20, 2012	Judge Haskell Pitluck
February 18, 2013	William Hyzer
February 17, 2014	Candy Ross
February 15, 2015	Stephen Kinney
February 18, 2018	Dr. John Melville, MD
February 15, 2021	Dan Hines (MSgt, ret.)

John M. Williams Humanatarian Service Award

John Williams Humanitarian Award To be given to an forensic odontologist whenever appropriate who exemplifies humanitarian service in the spirit of Dr. John M. Williams, the first award to be given to Dr. John Williams posthumously.

This Award will be given in the future at the discretion of the ABFO Board of Directors to a worthy recipient.

February 17, 2013

John M. Williams, DDS

Robert Emmett Barsley Award for Forensic Odontology Excellence and Development

When Bob Barsley, DDS, JD, DABFO received the 2015 Alumnus of the Year award from Louisiana State University School of Dentistry, he was described by Dr. Frank Martello as having "endless energy and dedication to our profession (that) has been truly admirable and commendable." These accolades were accurate and also appropriately describe his extensive career in forensic dentistry.

Bob's generous spirit, thoughtful nature, willingness to share, and eagerness to help anyone he could were hallmarks of his character.

This award is given to a forensic odontologist who, by following the example set by the award's namesake, has achieved excellence in and dedication to the field of forensic odontology and has shared that excellence and dedication by providing significant assistance to others in developing their forensic odontology skills and facilitating their progress toward entry into organized forensic odontology.

This award will be given to a worthy recipient at the discretion of the ABFO Board of Directors.

February 15, 2021

Paula Brumit DDS, D-ABFO